All The News That Fits, We'll Print

New Officers elected

May 3, 2001 Depauville firefighters elected their officers for the 2001-2002 year on May 3. Repeating as Chief is Larry Girard. Elected as first assistant chief was Mike Patchen, his second time with a gold badge. Serving his first time in a white helmet is Mark Daye. Mike Cantwell was re-elected as Engineer Foreman, Jean Gardner stays on as secretary, and Pat Patchen returns as Treasurer. Captains and Lieutenants will be selected by the chief during May, and will be announce at the June meeting.

Clayton, Orleans hire EMT

January 2001 The Town of Clayton and Town of Orleans Fire Districts agreed in late 2000 to lease a medic from Guilfoyle ambulance service for weekday EMS coverage. The medic is stationed in Clayton on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and in LaFargeville on Tuesday and Thursday. He (or she) will answer calls in both districts no matter where stationed. Efforts are underway to study the creation of a seperate EMS entity for the two towns.

Firefighters are Recognized for Achievement

September 2000 - Two Depauville firefighters were recognized for their contribution to the department at their monthly meeting in September.
Firefighter Mike "Rookie" O'Neill was honored as Firefighter of the Year, his second such award. Rescue Lieutenant Mark Daye was given the Sanford Award for his efforts at keeping the rescue truck ready to respond.
Six length of service awards were also presented at the meeting. 2nd Asst Chief Jeremy Beckwith, and FF Kevin Barr were recognized for 5 years of service. Attaining ten years with the Department were FF Scott Black, Lt. Bill Daly and Capt. Sam Matthews. Life membership - awarded after 20 years service - was conferred on Secretary Jean Gardner.